About Us

    The Mark Twain Union Elementary School District is comprised of two schools: Mark Twain Elementary School (TK-8), and Copperopolis Elementary School (TK-6). The District consists of two major communities, Angels Camp and Copperopolis. Each of the District's small schools provides a challenging, yet caring, educational program for its students.

    The Mark Twain Union Elementary School District has established policies regarding attendance, activities, immunizations, transfers, discipline, computer use, and transportation. These policies are summarized in the Parent-Student Handbook that is sent home with every student at the beginning of the year. It is also available on this web site and the District encourages you to read through it with your child prior to signing it and returning it to the school.

    The District is governed by a Board of Education and you are welcomed and encouraged to attend the Board meetings. Agendas and minutes from previous Board meetings are available on this web site or at the meetings. The current members of the Board are: Diane Bateman, Kendall Morlan, Christy Miro, Jennifer Eltringham, and Timothy Randall.   The Board usually meets the second Thursday of each month. It seldom meets in July and a complete schedule of meetings is available on this site at https://www.mtwain.k12.ca.us//site/Default.aspx?PageID=18

    Superintendent Paula Wyant administers the day-to-day operations of the District working closely with the principals.  The District Office is located at 981 Tuolumne Avenue, PO Box 1359, Angels Camp CA 95222. Paula Wyant can be reached at (209)736-1855.
    Email pwyant@mtwain.k12.ca.us 
Last Modified on October 12, 2021